Steve Jobs

I’m sure you remember my elevator speech, because it wasn’t that long ago that I wrote about it: “I was diagnosed in October with pancreatic neuroendocrine cancer—the same type Steve Jobs has.” The rest is not important.

The day I was diagnosed, the doctors mentioned, as a way to explain and ground and maybe make us feel a little better about what they were saying, that I had the same type of tumors as Steve Jobs. I eschewed any internet reading about neuroendocrine tumors early on, but I remember gingerly skimming some articles about Steve Jobs after that appointment. There are only a couple thousand cases of pancreatic neuroendocrine cancer in the U.S. and he and I were two. I knew next to nothing about Steve Jobs outside of his diagnosis and his obvious contributions to Apple and technology, but I felt a connection to him nonetheless.

Since then, he’s stayed in the back of my mind. He was an example to look up to: Steve Jobs can run a company and I can’t even handle finishing this stupid essay? He was a way to ground all the medical talk in someone real: It’s actually the same type of cancer as Steve Jobs. And perhaps most importantly, until yesterday afternoon, he was an example of someone everyone knew who had my type of cancer–and was living. And running a company: The doctors haven’t said much about my prognosis, but Steve Jobs is still around so it can’t be too bad.

I know that I can’t accurately make parallels between his condition and mine. There is so little information out there about his specific treatments that I can only make guesses, based on my knowledge and research, about why certain procedures were done and what could have possibly been happening with his health leading up til the end. Half the articles list his cause of death as pancreatic cancer, anyway, which is not true.

Still, he was diagnosed in 2004, seven years ago. I don’t like to think of my life as having an early endpoint. But it’s hard not to think about that when my example of success has died.

That is just too big to contemplate now. Or maybe ever. What can I do but just live? And maybe accomplish even a fraction of what Steve Jobs has in his too-short life?

rest in peace

This entry was posted in blogs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Steve Jobs

  1. Suraja says:

    Steve Jobs did some pretty cool things, he’s truly an inspiration.

    Lindsey, stay positive! I expect great things from your future! :) Just remember, stick to fruit names for any product you invent. I hear they do really well. ;)

  2. Jean Farmer says:

    I just finished radiation for cancer. I can’t imagine what you’re going through. From the research I’ve done since my diagnosis, though, it seems that what doctors can do to help rid people of cancer has come SUCH a long way in a short amount of time. Your positive attitude will help tremendously – and so will your family’s support. Steve Jobs’s death would jolt you, I imagine. Live each day as you’ve been doing – HUGS! And thanks for your blog. It helps others. Maybe it helps you too? :)

  3. Arletta says:

    Lindsey,

    Steve Jobs may have led a bazillion-dollar company, but imagine what he could have done for NET cancer research if he’d admitted he had it and been open about his experience? In that respect, you’ve already done more than he did … or, maybe less cynically, you’ve picked up where he left off and have done a great job of raising awareness in a very positive, sweet way with the vid.

Leave a Reply

