video: will joseph gordon-levitt have coffee with me?

As you might recall, I saw the cancer comedy 50/50 recently and was impressed with it, though it was difficult emotionally for me to watch.

Also, I didn’t admit this in my first post about it, but after seeing Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s performance and seeing/reading some of his subsequent interviews about the film I thought, “This guy gets it. And he’s cute. I wonder if I could ever run into him somewhere.” But even though I live in LA, it seems impossible to find him.

Maybe YouTube can help…

OK, I admit: It’s ridiculous. And it feels like i’m making a big leap from being an anonymous cancer “liver” a few months ago to now starring in my own video.

But, life is short. So, why not?

This entry was posted in videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

118 Responses to video: will joseph gordon-levitt have coffee with me?

  1. Jen Feng says:

    OMG! Too cute! I hope he says yes!

  2. Jen Feng says:

    Also, I just tweeted your video to him…here’s hoping!

  3. Suraja says:

    YES! It would be absolutely divine of him, if he said yes! :)

  4. Katie L. says:

    You look so cute!!! I’m crossing my fingers ;)

  5. dolosanmol says:

    Good luck! Did you tweet him? :D

  6. Pingback: Video: Girl with cancer asks “50/50″ star on a date | millennialmafia

  7. Christina says:

    I am so glad you made a video asking him out. You go, girl! :)

  8. Vince says:

    I believe JGL lives in New York, which may be why you’re having a hard time finding him in LA. But, he is very active on his blog at hitrecordjoe.tumblr.com. Might be a good place to start!

  9. Carl Anthony says:

    I hope he has coffee with you, hun. If not, I will! I’ll be back in LA in a few months, lol. *hug* email me! carlanthony333@gmail.com

  10. ambientex says:

    If he says ‘no’, I’ll take you out for some coffee sometime… (though I hope he says yes)

  11. Dave says:

    Good luck hope he says yes!!

  12. Gazza says:

    dont worry. you’ve hit the front page of reddit. he will say yes.

  13. Amy says:

    The movie is kind of based on a true story, because one of the screenwriters really did have cancer when he was young. If the screenwriter is cute, maybe he’d be a good date too?

  14. Josh says:

    If he says yes I’d say he’s the lucky one! If he doesn’t I’m sure you will have no problem dating. Good luck!

  15. You are taking the social media circles by storm quickly, considering you just posted that video today. By the end of the week you will have had plenty of exposure to get this in front of the eyes of JGL. I wish you luck, and you are very pretty — ever find your self in New Orleans I would get coffee with you!

  16. JP says:

    My wife had a more “typical” experience with cancer/chemo/baldness, but she always struggled with the other cancer stereotypes that didn’t fit her diagnosis. I hope you get your coffee date, but either way you’re way ahead of the game with your writing and attitude…

  17. Sean says:

    Good luck with your search for JGL…I just wanted to say that I’ve been reading your blog (instead of doing work) after I read this online today and you are a wonderful writer. It seems obvious that there is a cathartic element in your writing that helps you process all that you have been through, and that passion and courage makes your posts incredibly engaging and touching. Once you are completely cancer-free, I implore you to write a book or journal about your experiences…the world needs more voices like yours.

  18. Ellen says:

    You’re adorable and talented. Wishing you the best!

  19. jon d says:

    Great video! Of course, being so cute helps… But hey, I’d like to ask JGL out – and I’m a straight guy! Always loved his acting. And I’d love to ask you out, too. Is 60 ‘too old’? I mean, it’s just a number. OK, lots of numbers. And there’s the wife who just wouldn’t understand… (actually, she wouldn’t mind. But I’d have to be home by 8. PM!)

    Really, good luck. I’ve just recently become a Justin T fan, and was impressed that he and Mila K danced with their Marine dates. In the one photo I saw, JT looked really taken in by the whole evening. We know that someone will have to be the first person to be turned down in this very public game of chicken, and I hope it isn’t you.

    And if it is, so what. I’ll bet many people will be dropping by for coffee, online, at least. I plan on coming back for more. I hope you are half as happy and upbeat as your video.

    Stay well.

  20. Chris says:

    You’re going to get a lot more offers if he turns you down.

  21. And, love the title of your blog. Smart!
    My wife mocks me for ‘going to the doctor if I have a hangnail’. But I never want to hear a doctor grimly say ‘why didn’t you come in about this earlier…’
    So, all – keep those checkups on schedule, and question authority. Your concern is likely nothing, but leave that for a professional to decide.

  22. Jorge says:

    Good luck with your plan. However I think it’s a bit unfair to do this kind of things with celebrities who (no matter how filthy rich and pampered they may be) are still people with the right to say no. The problem with theses requests is that if the celebrity says no, the whole internet will make him/she look like a jerk and will win enormous amounts of gratuitous hate. I really hope you get well soon and come out of this cancer ordeal stronger than ever. Just don’t say JGL is a jerk in case he says no.

  23. Robert says:

    This is all over Swedish newspapers :) I wish you the best of luck! Take great, great care!

  24. Annie Sisk says:

    Hey you made MSNBC! JGL’s people totally need to make this happen now. I will it to be so.

  25. Bridget says:

    I COMPLETELY get how awkward the whole dating with cancer while young is. I’m only 29 and have had a back to back bout with hodgkins lymphoma which I am presently in remission from. (almost two years out from an auto stem cell transplant) It really does become the invisible elephant in the room. Should I tell? How will they take it? What if they run away? It’s so hard. No one expects a 20 year old to have cancer and being confronted with that forces people to take a look at their own mortality, hence the freaking out and cutting ties with you. I’m still slow to get on the dating scene myself. However, I hope he agrees to coffee with you, if nothing more than that. Stay strong! This cancer survivor is rooting for you!

  26. Michelle L says:

    Just tweeted him for you, saw your video on Stuff Phil/Kevin likes on youtube. So the Nation is helping you out, and there is a lot of us. Best of luck! :]

  27. MaximumWage says:

    Lindsey! I’ve seen him walking his dog around the UCB LA (upright citizens brigade) area on Franklin… Girl GO CAMP OUT DOWN THERE NOW!

  28. Just saw this on MSNBC and wanted to say best of luck! You remind me of a close friend of mine who is going through treatment for melanoma, and thankfully she has a boyfriend who is supportive. I can’t imagine how tough it is trying to date with your circumstances but hang in there, good luck, and even if nothing comes of it at least you tried, which is more guts than most people have.

  29. Ingerid says:

    (: Good luck, I hope your journey takes you somewhere worthwhile! And I hope you get that date!

  30. mags58h says:

    You are more than a liver. I admire your gumption, spirit, and spunk. And, you are not alone. Sending you good healing karma and best wishes from my neck of the woods.

    May peace be with you,
    Mags

  31. irish2u2 says:

    How could any red-blooded American male resist you? I’m sure you will be hearing from JGL soon and if not then I’m willing to bet the ranch you will have more dates than you can handle. Thank God I’m 3000 miles away, way too old and way too happily married because I do declare I’m feeling a bit smitten myself. ; ) Best of luck and life to you.

  32. anonymous says:

    Good luck with this! My ex-boyfriend actually broke up with me after seeing 50/50, not because I have cancer, but because I have epilepsy (go figure!) and some people with epilepsy have high mortality rates and he freaked out similar to JGL’s character’s girlfriend. So, I feel your pain and the awkwardness of dating. It isn’t fun! However, I wish you the best of luck with your endeavors with JGL. :)

  33. randi says:

    good for you! go for it! i hope he answers with a “yes”!

  34. Hi! I just saw your video, very cute! Shared it on G+ and Facebook. Hope you don’t mind :D
    Just thought u might want to know that your video also made the largest newspaper in Sweden, Dagens Nyheter, here is a link to the article! http://www.dn.se/blogg/leonelsguldkorn/2011/11/15/cancersjuk-kvinna-ber-hollywoodstjarna-om-dejt/

  35. Jenny says:

    Wow, sitting in Japan, reading my Swedish newspaper about your video… :-) Good luck!! Btw love your writing so subscribed. /Jenny http://www.dreamersbehinddesks.com

  36. timoshi says:

    Good Luck!! (^_____^)

    Shared it on tumblr.com!

    • Robert says:

      Hi Lindsey, you have really nice teeth!! Did you have braces when you were little? Have you gone out with that Joseph dude yet? I hope he shows you a nice time. Ta ta and stay cool! Love Robert

  37. Nicole says:

    I also shared your video on facebook. I really hope he agrees to go for a cuppa with you!

  38. shihandai says:

    you are truly inspiring, lindsey. good luck and maybe i can swipe an autograph from your date? :D much <3

  39. I would say “Yes” tons of times =P
    Shared on fb… good luck =]

  40. Patrick says:

    You’re a babe; he’ll say yes.

  41. Kairy says:

    I sure hope he says yes!!!

  42. Pingback: Joseph Gordon-Levitt Asked Out by Woman With Cancer on YouTube | My Blog

  43. Pingback: Joseph Gordon-Levitt Asked Out by Woman With Cancer on YouTube | Latest Celebrity News

  44. Jake H. says:

    Good luck, sweety! Keep that smile and courage going!

  45. Mikaela says:

    Hi, i just read about you in the largest swedish newspaper Dagens Nyheter (todays news) and just whant to say you go girl!!!
    Best wishest,
    Mikaela

  46. Craig Perry says:

    I think you’re completely awesome. If he doesn’t have coffee with you there’s only one reason — he’s overwhelmed by your awesomeness.

    But my guess is you’re going to enjoy a nice, hot cuppa joe with him!

    Or perhaps he’ll just sip from your cup full of awesome.

    ; )

  47. This is so cool and cute! I hope the video reaches him!!
    Also, I’m so impressed by you and you are so pretty (:

    Take care!
    Love from Sweden (:

  48. Pingback: The C Word | peanut butter KELLY time

  49. Pauline says:

    Saw your video on msnbc – goodl luck!! He’d be crazy not too ;)

  50. misao says:

    I just found your blog today from the news – I think you’re an incredibly strong person, and I hope you get your wish. :)

  51. Do it, Gordon. I would if I was a famous stud like you.

  52. Pingback: Cancer Survivor Courts Joseph Gordon-Levitt for Date on YouTube

  53. Lou says:

    I would have coffee with you anytime; course I’m not rich and famous. I hope you get Joseph Gordon-Levitt to go out with you.

  54. Elizabeth says:

    Hi!! Just saw an article about you on NYdailynews.com
    I am crossing my fingers he sees this….

    Best of luck with everything.. I am sure you will fight this.. Never, Never Give up…

    The sun will always shine, no matter how much rain has fallen.

    Take care pretty girl… He would be dumb not to go on a date with you!!! :)
    Lots of Hugs….

    NYC

  55. Pingback: Joseph Gordon-Levitt Learns Cancer Is The New Marine Corps Ball | Hollywood Rush

  56. Frankenblog says:

    You’re gorgeous. I hope he says “yes”. I know I would…

  57. randomgoogler says:

    why guilt trip a guy into going out with you? thats overboard, mate.

  58. David Evans says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your condition, and might I say you are only gorgeous.

    I hope he gets back to you ASAP… xx

  59. Keith says:

    I’d take you out for sure. You’re absolutely beautiful.

  60. Pingback: Girl with cancer asks Joseph Gordon-Levitt out « Humor

  61. some guy who doesn't live near you. says:

    No, but I will.

  62. Jason Mutch says:

    you just made The Superficial.

  63. Pingback: Cancer Stricken Girl Asks 50/50 Star Joseph Gordon-Levitt For A Date | Fame Feeder

  64. Gene Hall says:

    I am the father of a 19 year cancer survivor. He’s now a senior in college. Good luck to you. This guy should be honored to go out with you. If not, give my survivor a look ;). You are a special young lady.

  65. Jeff says:

    You seem so sweet, I hope he takes you up on the offer!

  66. Francis says:

    Oh i got moved by your story :) and i hope you do well and strong!
    It’s not my thing telling people about my past but i can tell you that i too had cancer but in
    a very young age and if there’s something i’ve learned with it is that the best things in life are free.

    Best wish’s from Portugal to you ;), be well.

  67. Micah says:

    Good luck. After your date with him, can I be next in line?

  68. Pingback: Cancer Stricken Girl Asks 50/50 Star Joseph Gordon-Levitt For A Date | 21 Kisses.COM

  69. Antoine says:

    A hundred percent with you! Love from France!

  70. KH says:

    Saw the link on MSNBC and have just read your last couple of entries. Thank you for courageously sharing you journey with others. Grace and peace to you in this season.

  71. Wow…busy day for you.

    Best of luck with your coffee date.

  72. Daveym says:

    Your writing is phenominal–very good! I’ll follow your blog. I’d like to be one of the ones that contributes to your movie star dating fund should he say “Yes,” so you can go to a nice place, but you’d have to tell me how. I don’t have cancer, but have had chronic nerve pain, so I can relate to a lot of what you write, too. Your experiences are not reserved for cancer patients alone, and you aren’t alone in them! I hope your prognosis, as it becomes clearer, carries more smiles and less frowns!

  73. Yaminatoday says:

    I hope you get a yes. And now that Justin Timberlake just accompanied a female marine out on a date, I’d say your chances of getting a “Yes” have increased. It’s the “thing” to do now. Smile.

  74. Joaquin says:

    Hopefully he says yes… if not… I’m already working on my video asking you ;)

  75. Stephen H says:

    Saw your video on Yahoo. Just wanted to wish you well from CA. I read a bit of your blog, you are an incredibly strong person. Good luck in Grad School & I hope you get your wish!

  76. Eric Spence says:

    Cancer Success Story – Bill Trucks
    http://www.cancertruth.net/2011-october-newsletter/

  77. Mike Moresi says:

    Hi Lindsey.
    I hope that JGL honors your request for coffee. I just came across your blog today and I’ve read over some of your past entries and have been inspired by your outlook and coping with everything that has been dealt your way. You are an inspiration and I hope the best for you. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    P.S. If you happen to be in the Eugene, OR area for whatever reason, I would be honored to have coffee with you. Have a wonderful day!

    Mike

  78. Miranda Lin says:

    You are very brave, Lindsey. My father died of pancreatic cancer last year. He was diganoed with a tumor in June and died in July (within 30 days)… Life is really too short in your case and for a person like you. I hope your dreams will come true! And please remember you do not need anyone to complete your life… God bless you!

  79. Keith says:

    You’re absolutely adorable I would fly to L.A to have coffee with you! I’m sure JGL will as well. If things don’t work out with him email me. I’ve noticed you’ve gotten multiple offers, best of luck I’m sure you’ll have no problem finding a guy to take you out

  80. Nick says:

    Lindsey, you seem to be a wonderful girl full of life and hope. It behooves you to investigate this clinic which has helped many people with your form and other deadly kinds of cancer survive.

    http://www.burzynskiclinic.com/

    Also, check out the documentary about Dr, Burzynski to see just how far the government will go to prevent the average Americans from having a cure:

    http://www.burzynskiclinic.com/

    Keep strong,

    Nick

  81. Nick Dahlberg says:

    I’m a romantic at heart and this is so sweet. Before this video I had never knew of your blog but tonight after watching your video on Yahoo, I read through your entire blog. I do wish your date happens and happy days ahead.

  82. Matt M says:

    I saw your story on NBC this afternoon. Amazingly powerful and inspirational. Not to mention you are absolutely gorgeous! I wish you nothing but the best with your future endeavors.

    While I’m not JGL, I am originally from Chicago and now live in Santa Monica. I’d be honored to take you out for a coffee!!

  83. Brett says:

    I found a link to your blog on Yahoo and was moved by the video… then I went to your first post and read every one of them. You are amazing, a true eye-opener. I hope you get your wishes soon, and I will be following your blog from now on.

  84. Maria says:

    Lindsey – I hope you get to meet Joseph. I wish you nothing but the best in the future. Stay strong!

  85. John says:

    You’re cute Lindsey! I’m sure he’d say yes (I sure would)! I wish you all the best.

  86. deepa says:

    so cute!!!! \

  87. RAMS says:

    From Tunisia, North Africa,

    Wish you the greatest Xmas (no matter if we are still in november) with joseph gordon-levitt on your side.
    and wish you a long and healthy life surrounded by freinds and family.

  88. adam warren says:

    I am no joseph gordon-levitt, but if i were, and i saw this video i would say Yes in half a heartbeat! Who wouldnt to an amazing sexy girl asking you out!! :D

  89. PatricF says:

    I’d go out with her for sure!

  90. Benny says:

    Great job!! I hope he says yes. Seems like the media has picked up on it so surely he will see this video! Keep us posted!

  91. Pingback: Cancer-Stricken Woman Asks Joseph Gordon-Levitt on Date … | CancerBlogSite.com

  92. Alex says:

    Cancer or not, i would still date you

  93. Raul says:

    Live life like it is the last day every day, and embrace kind souls, I don’t know anything about Gordon, but if he doesn’t reply today, go out with someone else. Just look how many here are ready to embrace you! You are an angel and Beautiful!!!!!

  94. Ken says:

    Good luck with your treatment and your date – hope everything works out for you.

  95. Pingback: Cancer Patient Asks 50/50 Star Joseph Gordon-Levitt For A Date…On YouTube - SocialTimes.com

  96. tina says:

    So great to meet you the other night. I posted this – fingers crossed! You will get that cup of coffee with him, I just know it!

  97. Essi says:

    I just read about you in a finnish newspaper and I really hope everything works out for you.

  98. Tommi says:

    Take care, God bless and good luck Lindsay! You’ve hit the news in Finland as well!

  99. Jordan Myers says:

    JGL just came to my university (Ohio State) a week ago for a student Q&A. I could have asked him for you! Too bad I didn’t see this until just now. You’re beautiful, though. I’m no JGL, but I’ll date you!

  100. Renata says:

    Hey!
    I’m Renata from Brazil… I just saw your video and I wish you good luck with your date and your health!
    Best wishes!

  101. You are a pretty girl! I think he should take the chance!!!

  102. Felipe Botto says:

    I loved this girl is there, force beyond all belief in God and you get what you want, hugs a Brazilian who love your video

  103. Kelly Vieira says:

    I wish good health to you, that God will bless you, and you realize your dreams …

    I’m sure that all Brazilians who have seen your video a lot to cheer you.

  104. V. Morgan says:

    Hey, I just caught your story on HuffPo, and it kind of touched me. I’ve actually lost a few family members to cancer, my mother is a breast cancer survivor, and I’m at a high risk of it myself. I know the difficulty of talking about it if/when it comes up in conversation. But you’re also a beautiful, and from what I can tell from the video, attractive young woman. I don’t imagine it’s difficult for you to meet people. I suppose it’s a tough subject to breach in conversation though. Unfortunately, being as I live in Florida, I cannot ask you to coffee (not that you’d accept anyway). However, I do hope that somehow, JGL does get a hold of you, and takes you out; or at least hangs out with you for a bit. I do wish you the best of luck though, and hope that you can keep that positive and upbeat outlook that you have. Don’t let this bring you down. Live your life as best you can.

  105. William says:

    Hello. Good Luck for You.

  106. Omid says:

    Wow! So cool Lindsey! I wish you the best! Hope to see you soon! :)

  107. Leonardo says:

    Hi Lindsey. Here´s Leo, from Rio de Janeiro-Brazil.
    Saw your story and it´s really touching. Fingers crossed for your date with Joseph. Hope he accepts.

    If he really does, try to make it into an event for informing people about your disease. You really have a chance to do it. Your story is been seen all over the world!!!
    And, of course, enjoy your date with him. :)

    Hope the best for you!!!! Always!! Be good.

    Sincerely from your friend (is that ok for us to be friends?),
    Leonardo

    Kisses from Rio!!!

  108. Pingback: Cancer in Canada « fightingpancreaticcancer

  109. Pingback: Wouter's Blog » Blog Archive » Blogrolled

  110. Pingback: Cancer Stricken Girl Asks 50/50 Star Joseph Gordon-Levitt For A Date | Radar Online

Leave a Reply

